Snail

First acrylic painting: little snail on green background

Little snail on a branch. Acrylic on canvas, 8 x 10 inches.

This is the first acrylic painting I did way back in 2007. I’d done mostly pencil and charcoal drawings up to that point, with some watercolor and gouache. So I tried acrylic and I hated it. With a passion. It dries way too fast and you can’t blend the colors properly, so I was swearing the whole time I was painting this poor little snail. At least it didn’t come out so bad. I only managed to do one other completed acrylic painting, of a lotus flower, and a couple of failed attempts where I quit in frustration before I discovered that oil was way easier and way more fun.

 

This painting is now for sale on Ebay (just click on the image for the link because I can’t figure out how to put the link in the text, sorry).

